Small Schools Cross Country


Smiles were in plentiful supply at Milton Country Park on Tuesday morning as youngsters took part in the South Cambs School Sports Partnership Year 3&4 and Year 5&6 Small Schools Cross Country Competitions.

It was a spirit of fun and enjoyment that filled the venue as more than 600 schoolchildren competed for individual honours and team pride.

Grimaces were at a premium on the two-lap course which provided fellow competitors the perfect opportunity to offer support and cheer on their team-mates.

One of the overriding aspects was the sense of sportsmanship on display throughout the competition, from the arm of support in the Year 4 girls’ race to cajole a friend on to the finish line to the ‘showmanship’ of the sprints from some of the older boys in order to put on a show for the watching masses.

Another key element was the pivotal role of the 36 young sports leaders from Impington Village College.

They were there to assist in the smooth running of the competition, but they were far more than just stewards.

The sports leaders were urging on the youngsters on each lap, while some were there to provide a different type of support, as a ‘running buddy’ for some of those that ‘hit the wall’ during their races.

The top three placed runners in each school team scored for their team but individuals could also enter to compete for one of the top three medal winning positions in each race.


The individual results for runners in year 5 & 6 were as follows:

Year 6 Boys   Year 6 Girls  
1st Matthew Crafter Petersfield Primary Annabelle Helm Meldreth
2nd Joseph Elgar Thriplow Primary Olivia Welham Coton
3rd George Hainsworth Barton Primary Madeline Welham Coton


Year 5 Boys   Year 5 Girls    
1st Toby Daysmall Meldreth Charlotte Deakon Thriplow
2nd Mylo Jefferson Harston & Newton Cara Davies Haslingfield
3rd Yoav Pilowsky-Rankirer Harston & Newton Sophie Horlerimpey Castle Camps


In the Year 3/4 team competition, where again the top 3 placed finishers for each school counted, the runners from Harston and Newton dominated the year 3 competition.

The individual results for runners in year 3 & 4 were as follows:

Year 4 Boys   Year 4 Girls    
1st Josh Gomie-Woodcock Coton Evie Randall Great Abington
2nd Oscar Penston Barton Isla McCulloch Burrough Green
3rd James Crafter Petersfield Ilana Wilson Burrough Green


Year 3 Boys      Year 3 Girls
1st Thomas Barry Harston & Newton Francesca Bush University of Cambridge Primary
2nd Sebastian Adams Harston & Newton Molly Smith Harston & Newton
3rd Toby Slack Harston & Newton Elsa Jack Thriplow


The overall team results were as follows (only schools that had entered a team for all four races in Year could qualify for the overall team competition):

  Year 3/4 Team Results  Year 5/6 Team Results
1st Harston & Newton Harston & Newton
2nd Meldreth Thriplow
3rd Thriplow Haslingfield
4th Barnabas Oley Meldreth
5th Petersfield Burrough Green
6th Fen Drayton Barton
7th Fen Drayton



Your browser is out of date. It has security vulnerabilities and may not display all features on this site and other sites.

Please update your browser using one of modern browsers (Google Chrome, Opera, Firefox, IE 10).